Tuesday, 26 July 2011


New Strangeloop 12" out today on Brainfeeder - "Fields".

Know mostly for his live visual excursions, David Wexler moves away from his complicated beat fusion towards ambient mindscapes and rich sonic imagery, embarking into minimal psychedelic aesthetics. Mastered by Daddy Kev with synth from Austin Peralta and vocals from Vanessa Fernandez and Anna Gariby, the release was inspired by an experience while in an altered state of consciousness, with the three tracks corresponding to three movements within Wexler's trip.

Visit http://www.strangelooptv.com/ to watch a collection of Strangeloop's releases, or "visions", like the drawing session below.....

Monday, 25 July 2011

Prefuse 73

My favourite release of the year on Warp Records, 'The Only She Chapters' sees Heron move intro previously unexplored hazy territories, with a wealth of gifted collaborations on vocals. Aside from the absolutely stunning artwork this album is unlike anything I've heard for years, closing on psychedelia with a swarm of white noise and haunting empty spaces before exhaustingly deep sections.
Add Image

Free download of single 'The Only Hand to Hold' : HERE

WARPLP208 / Prefuse 73 / The Only She Chapters

Son Lux

Son Lux with his second album for Anticon, the aptly named 'We Are Rising'. A change in direction from the startling debut 'At War With Walls and Mazes', which took over three years to finish, the follow up was created from start to finish in a month as a response to the Wire's RPM Challenge. The outcome is a brilliant mix of bold and emotional songwriting, fused together with crisp electronics and acoustic instrumentation.

ABR114 / Son Lux / We Are Rising

Sunday, 24 July 2011

Saturn Never Sleeps

Collaboration between UK producer King Britt and singer Rucyl, who first came together in 2009 for an improvised dedication to Sun-Ra. The upcoming album, 'Yesterday's Machine' is a combination of heart felt vocals, heavy bass vibrations and beautiful sonic ambience, heavily reminiscent of Massive Attack but consistently pushing boundaries into what can only be described as experimental, electronic soul.

Check the first single, 'Tory' : HERE
Free mp3 available from Yesterday's Machine blog : HERE

SNS008 / Saturn Never Sleeps / Tory (Release Date : May 11. 2011)
Album out August 2011

Dam Mantle

'Not a Word' out tomorrow on GET ME! from Glasgow based Dam Mantle.

A self professed bedroom producer, these beats are the first to make it out of Marshallsay's bedroom this year, following the excellent Purple and Grey EPs and hopefully preceding a full length release. That said, two of these four tracks clock in at over seven minutes, and the single 'Not a Word' is an absolute treat.

Check the video for 'Not a Word' below

Buy the vinyl : HERE